Posted by: emapey | January 2, 2009

Adults Shouldn’t Give Up To Return To College

Some nontrads just give up before even trying. But they don’t have to. Sometimes just taking one class to get “your feet wet” can help.

Make that appointment with the college Financial Aid office. Who knows? There may be a grant for you that you don’t even know exists. You can’t find out if you never try.

Fail a class or get a grade you don’t like? You can always take it over, or take another class later. You can even take a subject, complete it, and then take another one.

Read More: The Non-Traditional Student Blog

Responses

  1. I’ve been teaching adult learners for more than twenty years, and the one problem mentioned by my students time and again was the fear that they just wouldn’t be able to conjure up the academic skills they had back in high school years earlier.

    I always tell my anxious adult learners that enrolling for one college course that first semester is the best way to get started. Concentrate on that one course and all the skills needed for that course.

    Students are always amazed after that first semester that they were able to learn and actually enjoy learning. After that first successful experience, they’re on their way to completing a degree, whether it takes a couple of years or the better part of a decade.

  2. I truly thank you for this site! I’m 41 yrs. old and began my undergraduate degree back in 92 and 94, but due to one catastrophe after another completing my degree was put on hold over and over. In the past several months I decided to return to college. I was making connections with key people and was gung-ho… But after battling with finances, marriage struggling, health issues, children, home damaged by hurricane Ike and onging traumas, I recently wanted to give up! But today as I was searching online for information on non-traditional students I came across this site and it has given me the courage to press on and not give up on my destiny! Again, thank you so very much!

  3. It is very tough going back as an adult, m. lady, but you can do it! I went back at 35 and graduated with my B.A. at 40. If I could do it, anyone can. Best of luck on your back to school journey, and please contact me if I can help with anything. (edited by emapey)

  4. I’m a non-traditional adult college student, and I have to say this is the way to go for most people. It’s very convenient, the work is interesting and challenging without being too difficult, and there are plenty of resources out there for students to use. I’m in the BSB program at University of Phoenix, I do all my classes online, and I’ve had nothing but positive experiences. You can get help with choosing which classes to take and financial aid over the phone, or you can go to a campus if you want. You can also use campus resources (i.e. computers, paper, printing coursework) even if you’re an online student. There are people in my classes from all ages and all walks of life. It is nice to see that there is a lot of encouragement out there for those of us who are trying to finish our educations later in life.

  5. Thank you for the link to my site and the quotes here from it. I appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

