Posted by: emapey | March 1, 2009

Higher Education Return of Investment

About.com lists ways a college degree can enrich your life

But choose your degrre program carefully

There’s nothing wrong with pursuing higher education simply because you like to learn, but do so in a way that is financial responsible and don’t go into it with illusions that it’s sure to pay-off in the long run.
Source: Thinking on the Margin

What degrees are much more lucrative than others, which are the best investments? To find out, I sat down with my handy-dandy financial calculator to play with some numbers.
Source: MSN Money

Responses

  1. I am 57 years old, and I just finished my degree at the University of Wyoming that I started in 1970. I returned in the summer of 2007, figuring that it would take a year. It took four semesters and two summer sessions.

    It wasn’t easy. I fought with the registrar’s office for credit for my old classes. I fought with financial aid who wanted to cut me off after one year. I used my personal savings and I had to dip into my IRA savings account. It was gratifying and grueling.

    Now I have to go find a job in a dismal economy. My job skills in computer system administration have gotten rusty in the two years I have been away. On a personal level, it was worth it. With respect to a better job and paying off my student loans, I will have to wait and see.


Leave a Reply

Categories

